For more information contact:
Greg Marecek (314-753-1570)
Myron Holtzman (314-469-0210)


ST. LOUIS (July 11, 2010) — Steve Stipanovich, perhaps the most heralded big man in the history of the University of Missouri basketball, will add his name to the outstanding cast of individuals who will be part of the St. Louis Sports Hall of Fame second class of inductees during enshrinement ceremonies on Tuesday, November 16, at the Millennium Hotel.

“Stipo,” the seven-footer who led DeSmet High School to the Missouri state championship and Mizzou to four straight Big Eight Conference championships from 1979-83, finished as Mizzou’s second leading scorer and all-time leading rebounder before being drafted in the first round by the Indiana Pacers of the National Basketball Association.

He was the Big Eight “Newcomer of the Year” as a freshman and earned All-America and Academic All-America honors his senior year. He twice was named to the all-conference, all-district, and all-Big Eight Tournament teams.

Stipanovich was the second player taken in the 1983 NBA draft and played five seasons for the Indiana Pacers. At the time, he was one of only four MU basketball players to have his jersey number (40)retired.

Unfortunately, Stipo’s NBA career was cut short by a degenerative knee disorder. He played just two seasons before the condition became apparent. The Pacers pursued every possible medical opinion, and Stipanovich endured multiple operations, all to no avail. His five-year career ended with averages of 13.2 points and 7.8 rebounds.

“Steve’s addition to the second class of the St. Louis Sports Hall of Fame makes this year’s assembly of inductees and special achievement winners even more extraordinary,” said Greg Marecek, founder and president of the St. Louis Sports Hall of Fame. “We expect to draw an even bigger crowd than last year’s 1,300 that packed the Millenium Hotel for our first class of inductees.”

Stipanovich joins a second class of 16 individuals in the new enshrinment list that includes St. Louis Blues’ Hall of Famers Brett Hull and Al MacInnis, former three-time U.S. Open champion Hale Irwin, St. Louis Rams Super Bowl champion coach Dick Vermeil, former Rams’ running back Marshall Faulk, former St. Louis Cardinal catcher Ted Simmons, tennis champion Butch Buchholz, former Big Red quarterback Jim Hart, former St. Louis Hawks star Cliff Hagen, soccer great Pat McBride, and several others.

In addition, these Special Achievement Awards will be presented:
• The Heart of Gold Award: Monsignor Louis Meyer for his decades-long contributions to the Catholic Youth Council
• The President’s Choice Award: Rawlings Sporting Goods as a national leader in sports products
• The Star of the Game Award: former Cardinal slugger and playoff hero Jack Clark
• Community Service and Humanitarian Award: Cardinals Care for their wonderful contributions to kids in the community
• The St. Louis Award for Past Champions: Budweiser's 1950s Bowling Team
• The Metro Legend Award: Legendary Cleveland High School football coach Ray Cliffe“.”
• Award of Champions: To be shared by Lindenwood University athletics for their many team championships, and Washington University for the women’s national championship in Division III basketball.

To qualify for the St. Louis Shrine, nominees needed to have been born or simply played in St. Louis either as amateurs or professionals, from the high school ranks to the professional leagues. Some 100 ballots were distributed to former athletes and members of the media.

All living honorees and special achievement award winners have committed to attending the November dinner.

Individual tickets are $150 and tables of ten are $1,250. Reservations are being accepted online at, or by calling toll free 1-888-627-3235, ext. 710. Checks or money orders, made out to the Hall of Fame, can be mailed to P.O. Box 190833, St. Louis, Mo. 63119.